First off, I'd like to quickly define my competitive gaming experience (mostly League of Legends and Super Smash Bros. Melee). In any competitive sport, there are rankings, and I consider myself to be at least an average player in both games I play. Ok. Now to talk about the people I have come to hate.
Unfortunately, these rankings can sometimes be the source for players to verbally abuse other players. People will judge people by their ranking without even playing them. This is dumb for two main reasons. One: they may actually be a decent player. Everyone had to start somewhere. Maybe this person doesn't care to play ranked or doesn't play that game mode much, or hasn't played in a while. Rankings don't tell everything. Two: trash talking players based on ranking alone means NOTHING. Until you have played with/against the person, you don't know why they're bad. I also believe that everyone has probably had a slightly unique experience with the game. They may actually have good insight or good mechanics in one area or with one character but not with others. But that's just my opinion, I understand if you blindly think higher ranking players are 100% superior to lower ranking players in all aspects and at all moments.... But again, deciding who knows what or who is better is not the focus of this article.
So when is it ok to trash talk? I actually like trash talk. I think it is part of the competitive spirit. It drives people to play better and work harder. I'm perfectly ok if people trash talk their friends; I assume they know what's appropriate with their friends. I think it's fine to trash talk people on a similar skill level. Pros can certainly trash talk other pros.
I don't think it's ok to trash talk players that are worse than you. This is just degrading. It doesn't spark the competitive fire, it puts it out. I think it's the responsibility of good players to guide other players (at least when they seek out help). I don't think it's ok to talk shit to people who you know nothing about, personally or skill-wise.
So when is it ok to trash talk? I actually like trash talk. I think it is part of the competitive spirit. It drives people to play better and work harder. I'm perfectly ok if people trash talk their friends; I assume they know what's appropriate with their friends. I think it's fine to trash talk people on a similar skill level. Pros can certainly trash talk other pros.
I don't think it's ok to trash talk players that are worse than you. This is just degrading. It doesn't spark the competitive fire, it puts it out. I think it's the responsibility of good players to guide other players (at least when they seek out help). I don't think it's ok to talk shit to people who you know nothing about, personally or skill-wise.
I never think it's ok to verbally abuse people. I'm so confused by people that verbally abuse people. Are you enjoying it? Why? When someone verbally abuses me, I don't really get that mad. I'm more sad than mad. I know those things you say aren't true. I know if you actually tried to do those things, you'd be in jail. Not that I ever actually think they're serious. They're just trying to trigger my nerves. But I think there are much better ways of doing that. You can shit talk someone's gameplay. You can own them in the actual game. What if someone actually has some family issues or someone close has cancer? You've probably just ruined their day. And if that was what you're going for, then I'm truly sad for you.
I don't know. I just feel like the purpose of trash talk is to trigger people. But sometimes it can go beyond that. You should be having fun playing these games. That's why you played it in the first place. Trash talk should be done in the right way and to the right people. Otherwise, it can just ruin someone's day.
I don't know what I'm even saying anymore but there is no more.
I don't know. I just feel like the purpose of trash talk is to trigger people. But sometimes it can go beyond that. You should be having fun playing these games. That's why you played it in the first place. Trash talk should be done in the right way and to the right people. Otherwise, it can just ruin someone's day.
I don't know what I'm even saying anymore but there is no more.
No comments:
Post a Comment